Laws of Karma

7 Laws of Karma – Life Lessons from Bhagavad Gita

7 Laws of Karma – Life Lessons from Bhagavad Gita


Everyone is aware of Newton’s  3rd law of motion – To every action there is equal and opposite reaction. Similarly in life we have laws of Karma. Karma means action and reaction. People must be educated about Laws of Karma and its effects. We can see and understand how laws of karma effects our day to day life. Laws of Karma is the most important life lessons from Bhagavad Gita. Let us understand  7 laws of Karma according to Bhagavad Gita.

  • Law 1 – Karma

When you read Bhagavad Gita you will find the topic Karma Yoga which means Purifying our actions and remembering God , creator of this universe. First Law of karma says “As you sow, so shall you reap”. When we do good to others and we get good fortune in return. The Bhagavad Gita mentions about selfless action. We should perform good karma as duty and service without attachment to fruit of action.

  • Law 2 – Karma as Dharma

When we perform our Karma according to moral values and ethical principles it is called Dharma. When we remember god and perform our dharma then it is called Dharma yoga. Dharma means righteous duty. what kind of duty ? When we perform service  as duty to god and humanity then it called universal dharma. Dharma brings happiness and good fortune in our life.

  • Law 3 – Individual Responsibility

We are responsible for our actions. When we do sinful activities or give pain to other living beings we get punishment according to laws of karma. According to Hindu philosophy God knows our good and bad activities. As a individual person must be careful while performing actions in our day to day life. When we spread love and happiness we see our life is filled with love and happiness. We cannot hide from rules of Karma. Karma is accurate law created by God and justice will be served to all living beings.

  • Law 4 – Laws of Karma : The Infallible Justice System

According to Bhagavad Gita god is watching our every action and our activities are recorded. An individual can hide from police or country’s legal system. Karma is universal law and principle. Nobody can hide from effects of Karma. If an individual steal’s money and hide from police. Still Karma will act and punishment will be given to that particular individual person. Karma is like cyclic in nature. If we give pain to others we get pain in return and we can experience this in our day to day life.


Karma is cyclic in Nature

  • Law 5 – Self Realization

When our actions are purified and we follow rules and regulation given in Bhagavad Gita then we are free from karma. Freedom from karma means Self Realization. Self realization means we understand that we are part and parcel of god and our actions are according to God’s Will. We pray to God for our wrong deeds and ask for forgiveness. We also commit to god that we will never perform sinful activities. Then we are free from Karma and karmic reaction will not act on us.

  • Law 6 – Karma , Akarma and Vikarma

Karma means performing pious activities. Pious activities can give us wealth , good life and good fortune. Pious credits are temporary and when death takes place everything is finished . Karma does not give us liberation from cycle of birth and death.

Akarma means activities which goes against the rules of Bhagavad Gita. Examples of Akarma  – Killing animals , Stealing , intoxication and any sinful activities. Akarma is performed out of ignorance. Bhagavad Gita’s  knowledge destroys ignorance in mind. We must daily read Gita. Akarma leads to suffering.

Vikarma means performing spiritual activities. Devotion to God means bhakti yoga. Bhakti yoga also means Vikarma. By following the rules and regulations of Bhagavad Gita we can get liberation from this material world. We must apply all life lessons from Bhagavad Gita.

  • Law 7 – Karma is Temporary

Whatever activities we perform in this material world , the fruit or result of the activity is temporary. We can have lot of money in bank account but after death we cannot take that money with us. Spiritual credit is permanent. Devotional Service to God is Akarma. Akarma is Permanent.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *